• Sale
  • Regular price $49.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Payment methods
  • American Express
  • Apple Pay
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Elo
  • Google Pay
  • JCB
  • Mastercard
  • PayPal
  • Shop Pay
  • Venmo
  • Visa

Legendary Piano Duos - Original Piano Roll performances by famous piano duos - Tina Lerner & Vladimir Shavits / Polly & Walter Damrosch / Joseph Lambert & Nadia Reisenberg / Percy Grainger & Ralph Leopold / Harold Bauer & Ossip Gabrilowitsch, etc.

Product details

Track Listings

  1. Concerto pathétique, for piano & orchestra in E minor, S. 365b (LW H11)
  2. Ma mÃ..re l'oye, for piano, 4 hands (or orchestra): No.3, Laideronette, Empress of the Statuettes
  3. Ma mère l'oye, for piano, 4 hands (or orchestra): No.4, Beauty and the Beast
  4. Concerto Symphonique for piano & orchestra No. 4 in D minor, Op. 102
  5. North Country Sketches, for orchestra, RT vi/20: Autumn: The Wind Songs in the Trees
  6. North Country Sketches, for orchestra, RT vi/20: Winter Landscape, No.3
  7. North Country Sketches, for orchestra, RT vi/20: Dance
  8. North Country Sketches, for orchestra, RT vi/20: March of Spring
  9. Marche Militaire for piano, 4 hands in E flat major, D. 733/3 (Op. 51/3)
  10. Marche Militaire for piano, 4 hands in D major, D. 733/1 (Op. 51/1)
  11. Suite for 2 pianos No. 1, Op. 15: Valse
  12. March of the Little Lead Soldiers, for orchestra/piano, Op. 14/6
  13. Symphonic Dance, No.1 (Old English Dance)


I have been a fan of the piano-duo Gabrilowitsch & Bauer for many years. Their joint concerts early in the 20th century have been commented upon by musicians for 90 years and old accoustic recordings give a slight indication of the magic they were able to create together. This CD, however, permits the listener to hear a clear, clean performance of a piece for which they are particularly wellknown. When compared to the accoustic recording of 1929, this CD also confirms (for me) that reproducing piano rolls, when 'performed' on an appropriate instrument in proper tune and supported by qualified technicians & engineers, faithfully present the artists as they intended to be heard. I bought this CD basically for only one track: the Arensky Waltz; nonetheless, all the tracks are essential for any 'collector' of historic pianists. The 'duet' played by Friedman was especially interesting because he accompanies himself and played both parts! Included on the CD are cuts by Percy Grainger - always one of my favorites - with Ralph Leopold and also conductor Walter Damrosch performing with his daughter, Polly. I don't mean to gloss over the performances of Dame Myra Hess & Harold Bauer or those by Lerner & Shavitz or the glittering Litolff Scherzo performed by Lambert & Reisenberg; all are delightful to the ear. For any serious collector, this recent release is a 'Must Have' and bound to give complete satisfaction.