• Sale
  • Regular price $89.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Payment methods
  • American Express
  • Apple Pay
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Elo
  • Google Pay
  • JCB
  • Mastercard
  • PayPal
  • Shop Pay
  • Venmo
  • Visa

Product details

  • Audio CD (August 25, 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 8
  • Format: Box set
  • Label: Dorian Sono Luminus
  • ASIN: B002ED6VPE

Editorial Reviews

The Ames Piano Quartet: Complete Dorian Recordings 1989-2009
Celebrating 20 years of releases with the ensemble, Dorian Sono Luminus is proud to announce the Complete Dorian Recordings of The Ames Piano Quartet 1989-2009. The Ames Piano Quartet, the resident chamber music ensemble at Iowa State University, holds a unique position in the chamber music field as one of the few piano quartets in the world.

The combination of their lush string sound, blended with the orchestral quality of the piano, produces an exquisite and rare sonority. The Washington Post aptly described it as 'one of the most heavenly combinations of instruments around.'
The ensemble has toured throughout the United States, including concerts in New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Detroit, Denver, San Diego, and Washington
D.C. Internationally they have performed in Canada, Mexico, France, Austria, and the Far East. Most recently the Quartet spent a week concertizing and
teaching in Havana, Cuba, the first American chamber music group to perform there in over forty years.

The ensemble's current members, all present ISU Music Department faculty, include Mahlon Darlington, violinist; George Work, cellist; Jonathan Sturm, violist (taking over on disc 6 and 7 for previous violist Laurence Burkhalter), and William David, pianist. Since its formation in 1976, the ensemble has recorded eight compact discs, including seven for Dorian Sono Luminus (then Dorian Recordings) all of which have received national and international critical acclaim.

This set, which contains passionate and brilliant interpretations of some of the greatest music in the piano quartet repertoire, embodies all of the releases by the ensemble over the last 20 years on Dorian Recordings plus a bonus CD of two works that have never before been released on Dorian.